YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE

 

To be legally married in San Diego, you must apply for your California Marriage License before the wedding.

 

  • Applicants must be 18 years old

  • Couple must appear together, with their valid government-issued photo ID, at any California County Clerk-Recorder

  • No blood test required

  • No waiting period

  • No residency requirement

  • The marriage license can be purchased at any County Clerk's office anywhere in California

  • License is effective immediately and valid for up to 90 days anywhere in the State of California.

YOUR CALIFORNIA MARRIAGE LICENSE...​ AS EASY AS 1, 2, 3!

How to Obtain Your Marriage License In San Diego...

 

One... count back 90 days from your wedding date. You can obtain your license anytime within that 90-day window.

 

Two... make an appointment by calling (619) 237-0502. San Diego County Clerk offices require an appointment to get the license.

 

  • Wedding licenses are issued at the San Diego Clerk offices by appointment only on Mon - Fri from 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
     

  • No walk-ins are accepted in San Diego

 

Three... download and fill out your San Diego marriage license application before you go to the Clerk... this will save you time.

 

 

Four... both parties must appear together, at their scheduled appointment time, with their valid photo ID at one of the San Diego County Clerk's offices.

 

SAN DIEGO COUNTY ADMINISTRATION CENTER
1600 Pacific Highway, Room 273

San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 237-0502

Mon - Fri from 8 am - 4:30 pm

 

CHULA VISTA BRANCH OFFICE
590 Third Street

Chula Vista, CA 91910

(619) 237-0502

Mon - Fri from 8 am - 4:30 pm

 

EL CAJON BRANCH OFFICE
200 South Magnolia

El Cajon, CA 92020

(619) 237-0502

Mon - Fri from 8 am - 4:30 pm

 

SAN MARCOS BRANCH OFFICE
141 East Carmel Street

San Marcos, CA 92078

(619) 237-0502

Mon - Fri from 8 am - 4:30 pm

 

Helpful Tip: If you are coming from Arizona, consider obtaining  your wedding license in Imperial County / El Centro. It is on the way to San Diego, and walk-ins are welcome. No appointment is required!

 

IMPERIAL COUNTY CLERK-RECORDER

http://www.co.imperial.ca.us/recorder/
940 Main Street  Suite 202
El Centro, CA 92243
(760) 482-4427
Mon - Fri from 8 am - 5 pm

 

OTHER SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA COUNTY CLERK-RECORDERS

 

All California County Clerk-Recorder offices will have different fees, hours and appointment requirements to apply for your marriage license, and to obtain copies of your official marriage certificate after the wedding.

 

PLEASE NOTE: Your wedding officiant is is required by law to file the license with the Clerk of record within 10 days of the wedding. Couples MAY NOT take the license to file on their own.

San Diego Public Marriage License

 

  • The fee for a San Diego Public Marriage License is $70

  • Applicants must be 18 years old

  • A blood test is not required

  • There is no waiting period

  • Each applicant must present (1) form of valid photo identification with proof of age (drivers license, passport)

  • If either party has been granted a divorce within 90 days of applying for a new marriage license, a copy of the final divorce decree must be presented at the time of issue. If it has been more than 90 days, the decree is not required, and you need only supply the date of dissolution.

  • The marriage ceremony may be performed ANYWHERE in the State of California

  • California requires only ONE WITNESS be present at the actual ceremony (not when applying for the license)

  • San Diego Application for Marriage License

 

San Diego Confidential Marriage License

 

  • The fee for a San Diego Confidential Marriage License is $89

  • Applicants must be 18 years old

  • A blood test is not required

  • No witness is required

  • There is no waiting period

  • Each applicant must present (1) form of valid photo identification with proof of age (drivers license, passport)

  • If either party has been granted a divorce within 90 days of applying for a new marriage license, a copy of the final divorce decree must be presented at the time of issue. If it has been more than 90 days, the decree is not required, and you need only supply the date of dissolution

  • Both parties must swear in writing that they have been living together for 6 months or more

  • The marriage ceremony may be performed ANYWHERE in the State of California

  • Only the married couple may obtain official copies of the marriage certificate, except by order of the Superior Court

  • San Diego Application for Marriage License

 

After you purchase your wedding license, the marriage ceremony can be performed at any location by Rev. Renate or Rev. Grant.

 

Bring your license to the wedding. Immediately following the wedding ceremony, we will have ONE witness sign the marriage license. If you don't have a witness, don't worry... we can provide a witness at no additional charge.

 

We will return the signed license to the County Clerk of Record, via Certified Mail Return Receipt Required, so it is trackable and has to be signed for, and we have a record of delivery.

 

Your wedding officiant is is required by law to file the license with the Clerk of record within 10 days of the wedding ceremony.

 

OFFICIAL COPIES OF YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE

 

Official certified copies of your Marriage Certificate may be purchased from the County Clerk of record 14 business days after the license is received by the County Clerk-Recorder's office.

 

Important: The County Clerk-Recorder DOES NOT automatically send out copies of your official marriage certificate after the wedding. You must send in the Request Form and required fee.

 

After 14 days have, you can mail in the notarized Marriage Certificate Request Form which will be included in the envelope with the marriage license, or download the Request Form below.

 

 

You can also go in person to the County Clerk of Record to purchase your official copies.

FROM

AZ

Coming to San Diego from Arizona? Consider picking up your marriage license in El Centro on the way to your San Diego beach wedding. No appointment is necessary and walk-ins are welcome!
IMPERIAL COUNTY CLERK-RECORDER • 940 Main Street  Suite 202 • El Centro, CA 92243 • (760) 482-4427

© 2019 Daversa Enterprises, Inc.   All rights  reserved.

We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone.

A Beautiful  San Diego Beach Wedding™
Established 1996